Thursday, July 5, 2012

Twelve teams are in

Kuala Lumpur: Twelve teams have qualified for the AFC U-22 Championship 2013 finals after finishing their group stage on Tuesday with Group E starting its action Thursday from which two more teams will qualify.

Iraq, UAE, Saudi Arabia, Syria, IR Iran, Kuwait, Jordan, Uzbekistan, DPR Korea, China PR, Korea Republic and Myanmar have passed the group test either as the leaders or second-best teams in Groups A, B, C, D, F and G.

Group E which consists of Australia, Japan, hosts Indonesia, Singapore, Macau and Timor Leste will conclude on July 15.

There are seven groups consisting of a total of 41 teams in the inaugural edition of the competition and the top two from each group and one best third-placed team from all groups (total 15) will qualify to the final competition.

The host of the final competition shall receive an automatic qualification to the final round of the competition.

The competition replaces the Olympic Football Tournament Asian Qualifiers and is the second biggest national team competition after the AFC Asian Cup.

The finals will be played on 11-26 January 2014 and the host will be confirmed during the AFC Executive Committee meeting on 19 July 2012.

AFC Official Website

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...